Message from the PTOT Alumni President

Dr. Sheila Ritcey, President

2017 and 2018 will be remembered as very special years for our Alumni Association.

2017 featured a Centenary Celebration for Physical Therapy with a reception at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel. Special guests Rick and Amanda Hansen shared their vision of the past, present and future of physical therapy in Canada, followed by a Q&A session with an enthusiastic audience. The Rick Hansen Foundation together with the Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation capped the evening with the announcement of a generous donation to support spinal cord injury research at the University of Toronto.

The national historic importance of Enid Gordon Graham was  recognized at a plaque unveiling ceremony at Hart House September 27, 2017.  The plaque can be found at the northwestern corner of Hart House and pays tribute to her significant role in establishing physiotherapy in Canada.

The Alumni Reunion  June 2017 featured the presentation of the 2017 Alumni Achievement Awards and an opportunity to attend workshops offered by Physical Therapy Faculty highlighting significant aspects of contemporary physical therapy.

Our distinguished Alumni Achievement Award winners for 2017 were:

  • Physical Therapy AAA Winner:  Jo-Anne Howe
  • Occupational Therapy AAA Winner: Sharon Brintnell

Workshops provided for Alumni included:

  • Dr. Barbara Gibson: Differing Understandings of Disability in Rehabilitation
  • Dr. Stephanie Nixon: Privilege and Health Equity in the Context of Rehabilitation
  • Dr. Sharon Switzer-McIntyre: Bridging Back to Practice
  • Dr. Darlene Reid and Dr. Sunita Mathur: Muscle and Mobility Research

The presentations were a dynamic tribute to the advances of physical therapy in the past 100 years.

2018 marks the Centenary Celebration for Occupational Therapy at the University of Toronto. The central theme for the OT Centenary is the unique role of Occupational Therapy in promoting mental health.

The Occupational Therapy Centenary Celebrations commenced with a Birthday Breakfast Feb 21, 2018. The breakfast was a tremendous success with comments by Dean Trevor Young, MP Carolyn Bennett, MPP Kevin Flynn and Chair Susan Rappolt.

The next Centenary Celebration will be The Thelma Cardwell Lecture and Centenary Reception

Date :         Wednesday May 9th, 2018

Location:   U of T Medical Sciences Building , 1 King’s College Circle

4:30 – 5:30 pm Lecture Room 2018

5:45  – 7:00 pm Reception (C. David Naylor Student Commons)

Support from our generous sponsor Closing the Gap Healthcare Group has allowed us to complete the Alumni website accessed at A formal launch will take place in May. We hope you will be frequent visitors to the site.